Quilting Projects: Part 2

Here comes Peter Cottontail…….hoppin’ down the bunny trail….

This is one of my happiest “finishes” ever!  I completed almost all of it when I had a little retreat a few weeks ago.  I got this kit about 3 years ago from Connecting Threads…..immediately started it, but never finished it.  I hand appliqued the bunnies, so that was the time consuming part.  Yes, I admit, I should have just appliqued by machine to speed up the process.  But once I started doing them by hand, I didn’t want to stop.  If you are a seamstress, I used “needle turn applique, freezer paper method”.  If you don’t sew, that will mean nothing to you 🙂

Bunny Runner 1

The mouth and whiskers were embroidered with DMC floss, and I opted for quickly sewing on button eyes instead of embroidering even more.  Remember, I wanted to FINISH this???  I also took fabric scraps and made 3 Dimensional bows (those were supposed to be appliqued) and I just pinned them on after the project was complete.  I quilted by machine around each bunny head, and a rectangle around the edges of the striped material.  Lots of quilting options, but in my attempt to actually see this on my table this year, I kept it simple.

 Bunny Runner 2

In case you didn’t know, our little toddler says one bunny is mommy, one bunny is daddy, and one bunny is her.  Cute! Guess dad has to wear a bow!

Bunny Runner 3

I am just so happy with how this turned out!  Love having it on our table! If you haven’t ever checked out the fabrics, kits, and accessories available at Connecting Threads, you are really missing out.  I order regularly from them.  The quality is exceptional and the prices can’t be beat!  CLICK HERE!

Bunny Runner 4

3 thoughts on “Quilting Projects: Part 2

Leave a Reply

