Gatefold Card

I was recently inspired when I happened upon a Gatefold Card at THIS BLOG when I was looking for creative inspiration.  I found a new fold that I had not seen before and I was excited to share it with my club ladies last week.  I hope that you will visit LeeAnn’s blog for the full tutorial, but it is WAY easier than it looks.  I’m thrilled to share with you my version, and hope that it inspires you, too!

This sample is made with the In Color DSP Collection and this color is Island Indigo.  I love the tone-on-tone effect that you see with our In Color Collection, but I think this folded technique would also look great with our other collections.  Isn’t it neat how BOTH sides of the paper are proudly displayed on this card?

The card is held together with a belly band.  I used Whisper White Cardstock measuring 1″ x 9″.  I added some of our Island Indigo Ruffled Ribbon to the center of the cardstock strip and then  I overlapped it in the front with sticky strip to hold it secure.  Place your stamped focal image on top of the seam where you joined the strip together and you have a very polished and finished look.

You can see the folds a little better on the photo below.  You start with DSP measuring 5 1/2″ x 12″ and score it at 2″, 4″, 8″, and 10″.  On the right and left edges you will make a small pencil mark that is 2 3/4″ down (or up — it’s the half-way mark!).  Then you will cut off the corner triangles by cutting from the small pencil mark to the 4″ score and then on the other side the pencil mark to the 8″ score.  If you go to the blog link above, you will see an actual photo of how the triangles are cut off.  Sorry I didn’t take one in the process…but you can faintly see my pencil marks on the right and left of the photo below.

So here is the card completely unfolded and you can get a better visual of the triangle pieces that were removed on the top right and top left corners.

I hope you can take this “fancy fold” idea and create your own version.  I love finding new ways to use our Designer Series Papers.  And this is my most favorite finding in recent days!

One thought on “Gatefold Card

Leave a Reply

