Home from Samford, Emmy’s Quilt, and Daydream Medallions Card

Hello friends!  I am trying to play catch-up and post something that everyone might be interested in…..ha!  I am back home and thankful to say that I avoided the intense storms that Tropical Storm Isaac is producing…….but barely!  I managed to say my goodbyes to Lindsey and hold it all together until I got away from her.  I didn’t break down in front of her — she was so happy and so ready for college.  That made it a little easier, I suppose.  But my heart was so heavy!  God gave me some beautiful songs that were in Lindsey’s CD player and really ministered to me on the last day that I was heading to campus to see her.  God also provided the most precious couple for me to stay with in Birmingham.  They paid attention to every detail — fresh fruit and nuts by my bed, travel sized toiletries, a devotional book on the nightstand, breakfast cooked each morning, and so on!  I felt like I was staying in a Bed & Breakfast!  I want to be like them when I grow up and retire!

I then traveled to Miami for Charles’ football game — but the weather turned out to be a disaster.  Not exactly the way you picture your days in Miami!  I was on the earliest flight out yesterday morning, and thankfully I got on before they cancelled most all other flights for the day.  God provided again!  I am so thankful.

Tomorrow night is our first meeting for our new Club Classes.  If you are signed up, please be here at 6:30 sharp!  I have 3 great cards for you.  I can’t wait for you to see them!

I might post more pictures later, but today is such a crazy day of catch-up and Sarah has her first day of school tomorrow.  It’s time to get focused!  What’s that?  But here are a couple of Birmingham photos so you can see how Lindsey’s quilt looked on her new bed.  They haven’t decorated anything else, yet, but at least her bed is cute!

I also wanted to show you Emmy’s Quilt that I made for her new home……..her mom helped pick everything out and she graciously let me make it for her.  I am so thankful for a precious relationship with her……..and please pray for her today as it is her first day as a teacher in first grade.  She is a little nervous about switching grade levels 🙂  She said the sweetest thing to me when she decided to put some “owls” in Emmy’s new room.  She said that she chose owls so that Emmy would have something that BOTH of her mommies like.  It made my heart so happy!  This fabric collection is called “Delighted” by Riley Blake.

The owl motif is appliqued by machine.  I used invisible (clear) thread so that I could applique it a little quicker and easier (not changing the thread color so much).  I turned under all the raw edges.  It was a tedious process on some of the curves and scallops, especially.  But it was worth it!  I just wanted to make it work for my baby girl!   I am so happy with how it turned out and that it came together very quickly.  I was able to finish it in two weeks…….and worked on it a little bit here and there.  I’m amazed at all that I can get done without the baby around here.  It’s sad in one way, but exciting in another way!  We all know that my “to do” list is LONG….

And for those who care nothing about my sewing adventures, and only came her to see a Stampin’ Up! project……..here is one more picture.   This was one of my samples for the convention display boards.  It features Daydream Medallions embossed in white and then sponging added with Lucky Limeade, Wisteria Wonder, and Elegant Eggplant.  The background is also embossed and sponged with Elegant Eggplant.  The Ruffled Ribbon and matching brads really made this card one of my favorites.  It came together even more lovely than I envisioned it in my mind.  Gotta love when that happens!

 

 

Leave a Reply

