Magnetic Memo Board

One of the 3-D projects that I created for the Convention display boards was this magnetic memo board.  I purchased this piece of metal at a scrapbooking convention many years ago, but I know that you can buy it at the hardware stores.  I covered it with Stampin’ Up! Floral District fabric using Sticky Strip and added fabric flowers for an accent.  I punched the holes for the ribbon at the top using the Crop-a-Dile.

The flowers were created using the Big Shot Designer Rosette Die.  I folded the fabric in half so that the flowers (the rounded shape) was not as large as the actual die.  Then I used needle and thread to make a running stitch along the folded edge and joined the ends together.  This creates a circular shape and a beautiful flower.  I added a stamped image in the center from the Daydream Medallions stamp set and cut out with the matching Framelits.   The Purple fabric that you see in the center is just a circle and of course, the finishing touch — a button!

The magnets are made with flat backed marbles that I purchased at a very large store 🙂 and I backed them with Crystal Effects and Designer Series Papers from the Floral District collection.

Leave a Reply

