Lindsey’s College Quilt

I am so excited!  I found enough time to rock and roll on the sewing machine yesterday!  Everyone was gone, and I finished Lindsey’s quilt that she will take to Samford.  I snapped these pictures before I take it to the longarm quilter.  I can’t wait to see how it looks all quilted and cozy!  Something a little ironic about making a quilt when it is 107 outside!  Yes, it was THAT hot here yesterday afternoon!  It was still 100 in the evening!

The fabrics are Cabana Blooms and were purchased at The Quilt Asylum in McKinney, Texas.  One of my two favorite stores that are literally minutes from my mom’s house.  Love to go there when I visit mom! They are located on Hwy 75 at the Virginia exit if you are ever passing through north Dallas.  You must stop!  The ladies are awesome and the store is massive!

This first picture is the front of the quilt.  She chose the pattern.  The solid squares came from a Layer Cake of this entire fabric collection.  The other squares are 9 patch blocks with the turquoise being the center of each 9 patch.  All other fabrics are randomly placed.  She loved the colors and the bright, bold look of these fabrics.  This is a VERY busy quilt, but she loves it and that is all that matters!

 This is the back of the quilt!  I like the back almost as much as the front!  She wasn’t thrilled about the large print, but I found it on sale online and I was able to order the large quantity a little cheaper.  I thought I had ordered enough, but had to do some creative piecing.  I love how it turned out, though, and this large scale print is perfect for the back.  I think she will like it even better once it is quilted!  It is an oversized TWIN because her dorm has Extra-Long Twin beds.  I wanted her to have plenty to hang over the lofted bed and to snuggle with this winter.  Allyson froze to death in her dorm this past winter, so maybe Lindsey will need this big ol’ quilt!   But like I said……..hard to imagine it during the deadly days of summer!

 

2 thoughts on “Lindsey’s College Quilt

Leave a Reply

