It was the best of times, and the worst of times….

For those who have not heard, my life took a sharp turn on Saturday night.  During the day on Saturday, we had some of the best of times getting Lindsey ready for her Senior Prom and sending her off with her boyfriend and a multitude of other kids.   Isn’t she gorgeous?  I must brag and treasure these happy times with her.  They are fleeting — and she will go to college soon.

After they went to dinner, we met them at the school to see them again and take photos as they entered the school…….and then the phone call game.  THE PHONE CALL.  The phone call of momma screaming frantically and words that you can’t understand or even WANT to understand.  I hurried out of the crowd hollaring for Charles and Sarah to follow me and RAN to the car.  My mom had relayed a broken message to me that my brother, David, had collapsed and been rushed to the hospital.  They were suspecting a brain aneurism or something like that.  It was not looking good, but the phone call was so premature that I tried to remain calm.  I quickly packed my bags and gave Charles some “marching orders” and he took over with things left to do at home.  I was in the car on I-35 headed to Dallas within 20 minutes.  I managed to get here without only ONE thing that I really needed.  I’ll spare you the details 🙂

So, here I am in Dallas and it has been about 36 hours.  If you don’t know, here are the main details.  Unfortunately, they are not pleasant, and if you want to stop reading here, consider yourself warned.  But there is a blessing at the end of all of this.

The honest truth was not good news.  My brother was Brain Dead–legally dead– from the time of his arrival by ambulance at the hospital.  We believe he suffered little, or none.  They say he had a stroke — more specifically a severe Brain Hemorrhage.   Initial scans upon entering the hospital showed blood in half of the brain and no chance of any reversal, surgery, or the like.  It was devestating.  He is only 41 years old and you certainly don’t expect to hear this news.  Although he was not the “picture perfect health” (just being honest), this is still a great shock to all of us and very challenging on all levels.

Since that time, he has been on life support.  We are working currently with the organ donation center (and have been for 24 hours now) and we received news about 2 am that his HEART will definitely be going to a recipient!  We are thankful that his life will continue on, and his heart is remaining healthy and strong while machines are keeping everything else “alive” and going.  It is amazing how medical science is working right now to keep things viable and ready for his surgery.  Unfortunately, we are having to wait a very long time (at least until later tonight) to get an operating room available and get everything lined up with the ones who will receive his organs.  This is quite a process, certainly not an easy one, but so comforting to know that we are helping others.  It is also giving my mom alot of “goodbye” time and time to process it all.  Not sure if that is good, or not, but it is what it is.  It’s what life has dealt us right now and I am going to help her get through this one way or another.

It is so sad that someone has to die in order for new life to begin.  It is like the Resurrection of Jesus.  HE HAD TO DIE IN ORDER TO LIVE AGAIN.  Without the cross, we have no resurrection.  This is comfort to me.  God is allowing us to travel this journey that I don’t really like.  God allowed HIS only son to travel the journey of the cross in order to be resurrected and give us all Eternal Life.  God’s plan is not my plan.  Defintely not my plan.

I will update this and will update facebook as I can.  I am open to all calls, texts, or prayers.  But I can’t always talk on the phone, so a message via text or e-mail is best.  One of my posts yesterday had 85 comments at last checking, and what a comfort these messages have been to me.  I will need alot of love and comfort in the days to come.  So many want to help, but there is nothing that can be done to help us now except for prayers!  Thank you so much!

One last thought, and you will hear me say this over and over, but please treasure each moment you have.  Live each day as if it is your last.  I’m not saying to not live responsibly, but live with purpose and meaning.  Choose to do meaningful things.  You really never know when it will be your last day with someone you love.

It was the best of times, and the worst of times………all on Saturday.

Mom, David and myself  at Christmas 2011. My last photo.

4 thoughts on “It was the best of times, and the worst of times….

  1. Sooooo very sorry Dawn. What a devasting weekend for your family yet a joyous weekend with Lindsey. You are in our prayers.
    Love-
    Christa Meletio

  2. Oh I am so sorry to hear about your brother. I loved the way you talked about Jesus dying so we all could live again. Thanks.

  3. So, So sorry about your brother!!! We never know from day to day what may come our way. Thank you for the thoughts you gave us to think about!!! You are so right!!

Leave a Reply

