Tag Along Baby Quilt

This baby quilt is still in progress, but I completed the top when we went to Three Mountain Retreat two weeks ago.  It is now “sandwiched” together with the batting and some chocolate brown flannel on the back.  I hope to get busy quilting it this week and have it ready for a special baby boy that was born last week.  I will take it as a gift to the “Sip and See” that is being planned.  I used a charm pack and some yardage that I had on hand for the larger blocks.  I was trying hard to not purchase more fabric (very hard in my house!) and use what I had on  hand.  The only thing I bought was the ivory polka dot!  Aren’t you proud of me?  I had a great photo idea to take this picture on the fence and you can see how windy it was — didn’t work out quite as nicely as I had hoped.

So, I had to get a better photo and laid it flat on the ground!   If you look closely, you will see various ribbons and ric-rac on the larger squares that form loops or tags for baby to play with.  They will also provide a place to slip on small toys or rings.  Most little baby toys these days have plastic rings on them for attaching them to toys and strollers.  Trust me, this is very handy!  And babies love chewing on those rings.  Emmy is in the midst of some major teething right now and she is really enjoying the small round rings the very most!

I will look forward to showing you the quilt after I get it finished.  I plan to do straight lines around the larger blocks (and the smaller inner blocks where the tags are) and I think I will do “x” quilting on each of the small charm (5″) blocks.  Is that how you say it?  Well, hopefully you get the idea.  I am leaving today for a photo shoot out of town and will be back tomorrow night.  Hopefully I can quilt some toward the end of the week.

And here is a little sneak peek of what you will see next….

Leave a Reply

