DIY Embossing Plates

Today’s card was the third project that we made at club this week.  I wanted to show the gals how to make their own Embossing Plates using chipboard.  I had heard about this before, and was inspired even moreso when I saw the idea on Pinterest.  Here’s the card we made (the red version).  Notice the background with the large and small stars embossed on the background.  A subtle, but very effective element….

Here’s what our “homemade” plate looked like.  I used chipboard from various packages of paper and supplies.  Who knows where it originally came from!  I punched the stars from some thinner chipboard.  If you use THICK chipboard you will not be able to use hand-held punches, but you could always use shapes cut from Big Shot dies, also.  I glued them onto some rather thick chipboard and thinly coated it with Mod Podge to hold it all together.  You don’t HAVE to do the coating, but I liked the finished product, and I knew that I wanted it to last quite a while and that many ladies would be using it.

When you run it through the Big Shot, you will have to do some experimenting to see what tabs or extra papers you will have to use.  It takes some playing around to figure out the right thickness of your “sandwich” in order to get a good impression.  Once you figure it out, write it down on the back of your plate so that you will not forget.  I didn’t do that the first time 😦

 So, hope you enjoy this cute idea……..and I was happy that I came up with an idea that I could use for a more masculine card.  I am always needing them, and I have very few stamps for men!

Leave a Reply

