Friend Box

This is one of the projects that I made for my Stampin’ Up! meeting last night.  I was inspired when I saw it at Leadership and took a photo of it.  I made it “just because”.  No one in mind, just because I like it!  Stampin’ Up! products are like that.  They inspire me to create, even if I have no reason or recipient in mind.  Isn’t that the way photos and magazines work?  They make us want to create!

I took one of our Kraft Boxes and stamped “Delicate Doilies” all over it (either Crumb Cake or Sahara Sand) and then I sponged the edges with Soft Suede for some shading and more vintage/weathered kind of look.  Then I took the Paper Doily die and cut it out using Whisper White Cardstock.  This die takes a little more time to use than many of our other dies.  You have to spend time poking out all the little detail work with a Stylus or a Paper Piercer.  It is worth it, but I wouldn’t plan on mass producing anything with this die.  Just enjoy it and use it for you very favorite friends 🙂

The friend tag was punched out with the Small Tag punch and the words are from “You’re A Gem” on page 156.  I added a precious pink button from the “Twitterpated” Designer Button on page 12 of the Mini Catalog.  Did you see the Baker’s Twine on the button?  It is now available in 5 new colors and this one is Island Indigo.  You can see all of them on page 35 of the Mini Catalog and they are only #2.95 each.  Wouldn’t you like one in each color?  Go ahead……..I’m sure you husband won’t mind!  Hee Hee!  Last, I sponged the tag and attached it to the bow with a safety pin from the Vintage Trinkets.

 I hope you have a blessed day.  I am reminded again today how special life is and how precious each day is.  Today our school will bury one of our High School Juniors.  She passed away after battling brain tumors for over 2 years.  You might remember me making a quilt for a fundraiser for her awhile back.  It was in the silent auction and 2 ladies “fought” over it until the very end.  I’m thankful that she is pain free and rejoicing that Heaven has a beautiful angel named Hailey.  But it is a painful reminder that our days are numbered and that I should treasure the days with my girls.  And it is even more painful when I feel frustrated with the “teenage drama” and “teenage attitudes” that these years of parenting bring.  It’s so hard to walk the line in parenting when you see a parent lose their child.  May God be with Hailey’s family in a very special way.  Peace……

Leave a Reply

