Homemade Laundry Detergent

Now bear with me here……..this has ALMOST nothing to do with Stampin’ Up!  But if you follow me to the bottom, you will see the correlation!  Promise!

So, I have several friends, and blogging friends, that are really having a fun time making their own laundry detergent and saving TONS fo money.  With the large amount of laundry we do…….and the foster baby keeps us going, too……..I decided to give it a try.  There are many different recipes out there, but here is the one I used.  One of my girlfriends tried it out for about 2 weeks, and then we all decided to go for it!

So here is what you need (see the link above for all the details).  I had fun taking photos along the  way, though.  And let me say…….only 30 minutes from start to finish……including my clean up time.  All supplies cost me $20.72 at WalMart.  I accidently bought too large of a container of Oxi-Clean.  I only used half of it.  So, technically, only about $16 for all of the costs.   Here is the stuff you need……all from the same area on the shelf at WalMart.

You will have to grate the Fels -Naptha.  No big deal……it is very soft and easier to grate than cheese.

Then you want the soap to be a little smaller (in my opinion) so you can either chop it more with your knife, or use a food processor.  My food processor made it work out perfectly!

I bought this air-tight container at WalMart for $7.97.  You will need 2 of them to store all of it, or you can put the excess in ziploc bags.  I liked the look of these pretty containers on my shelf, so I went back and got a second one to store it all.  You will use 2 Tablespoons in each load.  Yes, that is a very small amount, but trust me, it works.  I had a small measuring spoon that was 1/8 cup (2 T.) and it works perfectly.  I’ve had that forever, so not sure if you can purchase one of those easily or not.

So here is how Stampin’ Up! is involved (sorry for the blurry photo).  I labeled my containers with Vinyl letters using our Big Shot Simple Serif Letters.  How ’bout that?  I love the look and it makes it clear to the family, don’t ya’ think.  Yes, my family does the laundry almost as much as I do.  THANK GOODNESS!  I am eager to see how long the soap lasts.  Most families have reported that it lasted a year…….but not sure how big their families were!  The blog where I found the recipe reported 9 months.  We shall see….but I know it is saving me a ton of money.  The large jugs of liquid detergent that we were using were about $8 per container.  Even on sale, $6 was the cheapest we found.  I’m thinking I like this so much that I will try the Dishwasher Detergent recipe next week.  🙂

One thought on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

Leave a Reply

