Hello, Doily! Card Sample

This is one of the projects we made at our club class last night.  It was a big hit with the ladies and they were amazed at how simple, yet beautiful this technique is.  This is called “Emboss Resist” — start out with Whisper White cardstock, stamp the doily image with VersaMark ink, emboss with White Embossing Powder, sponge with desired ink color, and voila!  A gorgeous effect!  This sample was sponged in a circular motion using Pear Pizazz Ink.  I applied a large amount of pressure in the center of the doily, but less and less as I moved out to the edges.  I really like the shading that is provided by doing this.   I think this photo is a little washed out, but the green is more noticeable in real life.

If you look closely at the bottom of this card, along the torn edges, you will see some stamped images from Delicate Doilies.  This stamp set provides 4 smaller doily images.  I love all of them 🙂  I used Soft Suede and Pear Pizazz cardstock for the other 2 layers, along with a verse from Teeny Tiny Wishes.  The bow was made with Pear Pizazz Seam Binding.  I misted the ribbon (before making the bow) with Stampin’ Mist, scrunched it up in a ball and then laid it aside to dry.  Instead of tying a “traditional bow” with a knot in the center, I took a Vintage Trinket and attached it to the center ribbon.  You will need to PRY the prongs open a bit in the center, force the ribbon up in the gap, and then apply the brad as you normally would to your cardstock.  I liked how the brown trinket seemed to tie the color scheme together and gave it even more of a vintage look.

I gave the ladies the choice of this green version, or a blue version, and I’ll show you that one later in the week.  We all agreed that snowflakes would be gorgeous with the technique.  I’m hoping to find time to create one of those cards, too!

One thought on “Hello, Doily! Card Sample

  1. Dawn
    I love the look of this card. I have been wanting that set, so guess I am going to have to order it soon. Love seeing all your creations.

Leave a Reply

