Hidden 9 Patch Baby Quilt for Jackie

I’ve been waiting all week for Jackie to get her quilt in the mail so I could show it to you!!!  This is the completed quilt that I was asked to make for one of my friends who used to live in Waco and attend church with us.  She has a new baby boy and wanted something special for him.  I was honored that she asked me and enjoyed helping her choose a pattern and look for the fabrics.  I sent her to several websites and showed her some option (since she is not familiar with alot of quilt patterns) and she found one that she liked with a striped border.  The pattern was a Hidden 9 Patch, and it is a fairly easily pattern for any type of fabric prints.  Since she liked the strip so much, I started by finding this border print for her, and purchased the coordinating polka dot (the one with the light blue background).

Then I began to find fabrics that pulled out the colors in the stripes — the reds, yellows, brown, etc.  I found a few of the fabrics at my local quilt shop, but some of the others came from an online source and JoAnn’s fabrics.  I wish you could see the small prints that are on some of the fabrics.  The photo doesn’t do them justice.  One of the yellow prints has polka dots and the other has tiny little animals on it.  They are so cute.  One of the browns is actually a small check fabric that looks solid on the photo.  At any rate, I’m still learning about fabric choices for quilts, but Jackie and I were happy with them. 🙂

To quilt this quilt, I used masking tape as my guide and quilted diagonal lines through the centers of the blocks.  However, I had to go back and add another row in between the large squares so the quilting would be closer together.  I liked the end result.  Straigh uniform lines, but different sized rectangles.  I’m not a “professional quilter” by any means, but I’m getting better at straight lined patterns and feeling comfortable with smaller sized quilts.

I took this last photo to show that I added my label to the binding……..and I love my labels!  I’m so glad I bought them!

And this is the little guy that this quilt is made for………I stole this off of her facebook page!  Isn’t he a cutie!  Look at that smile!

I hope you enjoy seeing some sewing projects from time to time!  I worked in “all my spare time” on this one………and I’m thrilled to move on to more projects!  My creative time is very limited — for sewing or stamping — and I’m truly missing it.  However, I am trying to stay positive, not complain, and remember the reason that I need to work.  I’m so thankful for a job at a time when many are jobless and begging for work.  God has provided for our family and I’m going to keep reminding myself of his provision and be thankful!!!!

One thought on “Hidden 9 Patch Baby Quilt for Jackie

Leave a Reply

