Lindsey’s Birthday Quilt

Here’s another project that I had to “hide” for the last few months.  I made this quilt for Lindsey’s birthday which was on Monday.  She loves it……and I’m so glad she loves it!  It’s always a struggle to know if you put this much time and effort (and money) into a quilt………..and you wonder if the recipient will love it as much as you do!

I saw this quilt on a blog that I read regularly — way back in February or March, maybe.  I was in love with the new fabric from Jennifer Paganelli of Sis Boom Fabrics.  This line of fabrics is called Honey Child (Free Spirit fabrics) and I am really in love with all of her fabrics.  I made a great discovery with her!  You can link up to her tutorial on how to make this quilt HERE at Sew, Mama, Sew.  The Sew, Mama, Sew Site is also one of my favorites for tutorials, ideas, fabrics, etc.  They tend to have it all.   I needed fat quarters of ALL the collection in order to make the quilt.  Then I ordered yardage of 2 prints for the back.  I forgot to take pictures of the back…..and I love the back.  So, will have to do that another day.

Here is the direct link to the Honey Child Fabric if you’d like to see them.

We went out to eat Chinese Food (Lindsey’s request) and it was yummy…..but very warm in the restaurant.  We were a little uncomfortable, and it was a little ironic to open a quilt when we were sweating.  Ha!   And imagine our surprise when we took the cover off the cake……..it was also so warm that it melted most of the Strawberry Buttercream frosting.  BOO!!!!  We devoured it anyway……but we learned a lesson!

Leave a Reply

