Busy momma checking in here…

To all of you who are wondering if I’m alive and kicking…….the answer is YES!  I wish I could tell you that I’m enjoying some time on the couch eating bon bons or sailing away on an Alaskan cruise…….but not the case!  Just a busy momma who hasn’t had time to stamp!  Thus, I have no cards to show you.  I did make about 10 Easter cards, but they were the “cross” cards that I showed you a week or so ago.  I made some in pink (like the class projects) and some in Baja Breeze.  They were gorgeous……I couldn’t decide which one I liked best.  I was really excited that I got them mailed out, and I think they were all received on time. 

I also had some of you asking me about my job situation.  This is yet another reason I have not been home and able to stamp.  I’m now employed at a somewhat full-time job with Image Photography.  Let me explain a bit…….as it all began as a very temporary job about 2 months ago.  One of our church members, Beverly Wallace, owns Image Photography.  She primarily photographs for schools.  Fall pictures, class pictures, spring pictures, athletics, etc.  She has contracts with many of the local schools and some as far away as an hour or so.  I was asked to help her with posing the students while she actually took the photos.  I enjoyed my time with her this spring, and she offered me a more permanent job.  I am currently working in the office until mid-May while we process all the photos we have taken up to this point, and a few more in the next week.  Then, I will have off all of June and July, but start up again August 1st when she begins photographing Seniors for the next year.  I am “possibly” going to be learning more about actually TAKING the photographs in the fall, as her business is still growing and she is in need of another photographer from time to time.  I love the people I work with (there’s only 5 of us) and I am having a great time with every aspect of the job.  I’m excited that I might learn how to take better photographs, personally, too!  How perfect for me! 

I feel that this is a job that was just dropped in my lap.  I’m grateful!  I was not looking for this type of employment, but I WAS looking for a job for next fall in order to pay for Allyson’s college expenses.  This job will not be completely full time.  Certain months will be that way, but certain months will not.  I will have some flexibility that other jobs would not provide me.  Many of the days that we go out to photograph in the school, we are done by noon and I won’t have to go back to the office.  Some days I will work more, it just depends on our work load at that time.  I think it will be nice to have a job that I don’t take home with me.  No papers to grade, lessons to plan, or things like that.  I won’t be doing any more subbing — but that’s ok.  I’ve done that for 9 years, and I feel it is time to move on.  Our education funding is so messed up right now, it would be even harder for me to find a teaching job.  I think God’s provision right now is perfect, and the timing is perfect too.  I’m thankful for this opportunity. 

So, please be patient as I work on the “time management” part of my life.  In a few weeks, I will be done with Image Photography for the most part and can resume some more time in my Stampin’ Up! office.  I’m also trying to work on some sewing projects here and there, and a few of those are gift items that MUST be done.  I’ll show you when I can….

I hope you all will encourage me as I begin a new “venture”.  We are attempting to NOT go into debt while putting 3 kids through college.   I’m excited to work for Image Photography and look forward to sharing more of my life with you soon.  God is good, and I feel very blessed……can’t say that enough!!!!

One thought on “Busy momma checking in here…

  1. Dawn,

    I love “jobs” that have a certain amount of flexability to them and it sounds like a great work solution for you.
    If you can get those girls through college without a lot of debt they, as well as you, will be blessed indeed.

    Hugs,
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

