Sewing projects that I’m trying to squeeze in…

I decided to do a second post today with some new sewing projects and new fabrics that I’ve recently acquired.  (“acquired” sounds better than having “purchased” and actually spent money, don’t you think?)   I took some pictures this morning to show you some new fabrics that I’m super happy about and I’ll look forward to showing you projects created with them in the months to come……..and just for the record, I love looking at them sitting on my shelf in my room, such yummy colors and fabric lines, just waiting for me.  I just want to say that some of the little things in life make me happy and make me smile every time I see them………and these fabrics are just one of them!

First, an almost finished quilt top.  This was a block of the month that started last February.  I am almost done, just need to add the borders and corners, and I will be ready to send this off to be quilted.

Corners and borders look like this….

These were bought with Allyson in mind……..just looked like her style, her colors, etc.  I showed them to her around Christmas time and she really likes them alot.  I’m making her a very simple, modern style quilt so it will go together quickly.  It is truly my next project to cut out and start working on.   Look at these great fabrics…….I got some of them on sale when Cabbage Rose had their moving sale, and the more solid looking pieces from Tomorrow’s Quilts here in Waco.  Then I decided to look online for more so I would have some backing on hand and found 2 prints on a closeout at this site.  YAY!  The solid gray is for sashing between the prints.  Allyson loves gray!  The 2 thicker stacks to the left of the gray are the extras for backing and binding.    I also wanted extras for pillows, etc.  Gotta have her dorm room looking great!!!!

This is my newest purchase from Cabbage Rose in Ft. Worth.  Riley Blake’s Enchanted Garden…….love.this.fabric.  24 Fat Quarters waiting to be cut into……but for now, I’m happy looking at the stack all nicely packaged.  I like all of Riley Blake’s fabric lines.  I’m in trouble!

Notice another Riley Blake ribbon………told you!  This is the Domestic Diva line.  Very retro, very fun.  Not sure what I will do with it, but had to have it.  I will get it figured out sometime soon.  Probably in the middle of the night  — wake up thinking of this one 🙂   See all of the fabrics HERE.   Missouri Star Quilt Company is one of my favorite online stores and is where I got this.  They have a Daily Deal that changes every day.  Great, great sales and a flat rate $5 shipping.

Moda’s Hoopla…..this Jelly Roll was the daily deal awhile back.  Saved a bunch of money and got a charm pack to match it yesterday.  I have a pattern picked out for this one already!  Just need to squeeze it in.  This one is very very very bright spring/summer colors.  Should be fantastic!

Found these two Honey Buns on clearance last weekend in Clifton at Quilting Cousins.  Another great store in central Texas.  I will use these for some gift projects such as small tote bags, journal covers, etc.  Christmas gifts that I work on all year long and save up…..

Are you really still reading this?  I’m not ready to admit that I have a fabric problem, and please don’t send me the steps to recovery.   Just smile and nod and move on.  I think I can blame my mother for this………ha!!!  This is what happens when you grow up in a house where sewing always happened.  Guess I’m raising some monsters, too.  I’ll be curious to see if any of them sew passionately later in life.

3 thoughts on “Sewing projects that I’m trying to squeeze in…

  1. Oh what fabric will do for a person! I love fabric too! Look forward to seeing what you do with these pieces.You have some pretty ones. The quilt looks great! Looks like a lot of work went into it!!

Leave a Reply

