Seam Binding Ruffles

Today’s beautiful Valentine is elegant and simple.  Our gorgeous Stampin’ Up! products made this card stylish and classy — and I have Maria to thank (again!!!) for this card.  The focal image is from one of our Sale-A-Bration sets called Bliss.  I added some pearls to dress it up even more.  And what do you think of the embossed tulip frame?  I hope you like it as much as I do………I will be using this one ALOT!  The tiny words are from Teeny Tiny Wishes.  I had almost forgotten about all the holidays included in this ONE stamp set!  It is a great set to have! 

Now, I’d like to teach you a thing or two about the ribbon on this card.  It is actually called Seam Binding and can be found in the new Mini Catalog.  We have several of your favorite colors to choose from.  If you have not tried out this product, you are missing out!  It is silky, shimmery, and easy to work with.  You can create a “ruffling” effect when you know this quick and easy tip. 

First, you will cut  a piece of ribbon that is at least 4 or 5 ” long.  You will “fray” the ends a little bit so that you can pull on a few of the strands of thread that are near the middle.  You will grab ahold of them and gently pull them to gather the seam binding.  You must get at least 3 or 4 of the strings — if you don’t, your strings will break off and not be strong enough to creat the ruffle.  Take a look at these photos.  This first photo shows my card on the left, ready with a strip of Sticky Strip and the piece of Seam Binding where I have pulled the threads on the right to gather. 

This second photo shows where I pressed the Seam Binding onto the card (on the Sticky Strip).  I would then trim off the excess (no photo).

Lastly, you see both strips of Seam Binding on each side of the card.  Notice the threads where I pulled them to gather on the left side of the card, too. 

You can try this with any of the softer ribbons.  It doesn’t work with thicker, grosgrain type ribbons.   I think it works nicely on Wide Striped Grosgrain, too, because of its soft texture.  I hope you enjoy this idea and will give it a try on your cards.

3 thoughts on “Seam Binding Ruffles

Leave a Reply

