Making dough….the kind you eat!

I have a new “goal” these days……..that I want to get really good at making homemade dough.  I want to be good at making yeast rolls, and cinnamon rolls, and pastry type of stuff.  You get the idea, right?  I love to bake and I want to be better than I am today when I’m a grandma some day.  I want to be confident in my baking, and I’m a little lacking some days.  I’m also very brave about trying new recipes, and I love it when I find recipes on the blogs I visit.  I found one this past weekend that intrigued me so, so much!  It was for Samoan Coconut Rolls — they start with just a basic dough for dinner rolls but then they have a liquid mixture that your pour over the top and when they cook, they have a syrup type of ooey-gooey glaze on the bottom.  Sounds interesting, right???  Well that’s what got my attention!  So go to this post and check it out! 

Here is the basic Dough Recipe that I used.  It was YUMMY!  I was quite proud of my first ever attempt at making rolls with yeast.  Charles has made them many times, but I want to learn myself and not rely on his skills so much!  You know, I’m a pretty independent gal!  (well, sometimes)

Into a bowl (I use a Kitchen Aid) put all the ingredients in the following order:

1.5 C warm water
2 tsp yeast
1/4 c sugar
1/4 c oil
3.5 c flour
1 tsp salt

Mix all together and add more flour if it’s too wet, but you don’t want it to be too dry. Let it mix for at least 5 minutes. Let rise until doubled in size, roll into balls, put into ungreased pan, and let rise until double again.

Here are the rolls fresh out of the oven.  They were really good, lightly sweet, and really unique.  I’m not sure we will make them really often, but they were fun to try and I will use the dough recipe over and over again. 

RECIPE #2 that I found at Crazy Mom Quilts (one of my favorite blogs!!) was for Stromboli.  It sounded yummy, too, and I was already thinking about the dough  from the rolls.  So, I decided to make up 2 batches of dough, and put the “Derrick Taste Testing Kitchen” into high gear.  We didn’t have any plans Saturday night, and all 3 kids were home (miraculous event that it was) — so what a better thing to do than bake?  We all enjoyed some family bonding in the kitchen. 

To make Stromboli you will need:
1 loaf frozen bread dough (or homemade dough)
1/2 lb. sliced ham
1/2 lb. pepperoni
8 oz. shredded Swiss cheese (I used Mozzarella)
Parmesan cheese
dried oregano
garlic powder

Let the dough rise according to package directions. Roll out dough on lightly floured surface until it is about 14” x 18”. Layer the ham and pepperoni on the dough, top with Swiss cheese, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, oregano and garlic powder. Roll up like a jelly roll and pinch the ends and edges to seal. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes. Let cool slightly. Slice and eat!

In the sewing world, I’m trying to finish 2 projects this week……..and one of them uses this binding.  Yep, all 11 yards of this bias binding.  I made this yesterday for my “Egg Money Quilt” that I got back from the quilter right before Christmas.  I can’t wait to get it finished and show it to you.  It is gorgeous and the border is scalloped.  My first time to do this……..hope it turns out!

One thought on “Making dough….the kind you eat!

  1. You forgot the ooey-gooey part that is poured over the raw rolls before they are cooked. 1 can coconut milk and 1 cup sugar, mix and pour over the rolls. Bake at 425 deg for 20 minutes or until the rolls are brown. I’m going to try this recipe using the frozen dough rolls.

Leave a Reply

