Just Celebrate Birthday Card

TOMORROW IS THE LAST DAY!!!  If you want to order from the online Spectacular Sale, please CLICK HERE!  30-50% off many, many items.   Tomorrow is also the last day to take advantage of our Starter Kit Offer for only $87.50.  Please contact me if you need help — my password is jdderrick. 

I had a recent request from a friend (and customer) to make her some birthday cards.  Seems that she was quickly depleting her “stash” and needed me to help fill it back up.  She didn’t give me any guidelines, and I had alot of fun creating cards for her.  I used a few cards from my own “stash” and added birthday greetings.  Others were originals, made just for my friend.   I also used some Retired stamps and papers — and that was fun!  Here’s a birthday card using “Just Celebrate” from a mini catalog in 2008 and some very “old” DSP…..I can’t even remember the name!

I’ve made many cards with this same card layout.  I like to refer to these as my “FLIP FLOP” Cards.  Here’s why….

I pick out a Designer Series Paper that I want to use, and cut it to 4″ x 5 1/4″ .  This gives a small framed border around the edge of the card.  I take the DSP and but it into 2 pieces.  You can decide where you cut, but I usually do a 1/3 – 2/3 kind of approach.  This one is probably cut at 1 1/2″.  Then you do the FLIP FLOP.  You take the DSP and flip it over so the reverse image shows.  Now you have  a very colorful card because of the delighful patterns on SU’s paper!  I usually tie one of our gorgeous ribbons around the card, using the “crack” where the 2 papers join as my guide.  This conceals the spot where you did the FLIP FLOP.

Lastly, I add a stamped image or words on the bottom section.  One time, I made a bunch of these cards and added a Bible verse to the front of each card.  I made about 50 of them one day and used them as gifts for others.  I would bundle up 5 – 10 of them and give them away.  They were so incredibly cheap and easy!!!  Why not try some FLIP FLOP cards today?!

Leave a Reply

