Christmas Quilt Progress…

I wanted to show you the progress I’ve made on the Christmas Quilt.  I decided to continue sqeezing in a little more work on this unfinished project.  I really need to be doing other things, but this has grabbed my attention for the time being, and I can’t seem to ignore it for too long.  Here is a photo with the 2 borders added.  I added a 2″ Red Print and a 5″ Green Holly Print border.

Yesterday I added the lines where I plan to quilt.  I used some pencils that look like chalk when you draw on the fabric.  They will wash out when I’m finished.  I kept it very simple — straight lines through the middles of the blocks.

Here it is all layed out and ready to baste together.  (If you don’t know what that is, I will pin all the layers together in hopes of keeping the fabric perfectly straight so it won’t “bunch up” when I start quilting it.   I ended up getting the quilting done yesterday afternoon.  I am so excited.  All I have to do is the border!!!  I also ended up adding a scalloped quilting pattern on the green border.  I was so happy with how it turned out — especially since this is my first quilt to do both the sewing AND the quilting.  It helps that this one is not that big…

Today, or perhaps tomorrow, I can finish the border and progress to my favorite part … the washing!!!  I love a soft, scruchy,  fresh-out-of-the-dryer quilt!!!!

One thought on “Christmas Quilt Progress…

  1. Dawn, your love for quilting inspires me! I want to learn now! (although I don’t have a sewing machine, that might make it a bit of a challenge. *grin*). I am enamored with all the beautiful decorative papers and I’m sure I would feel the same about quilting fabrics.

Leave a Reply

