What’s up with you?

I’m not sure you really care, but when I am reading other’s blogs, it’s because I’m wondering “what’s up” with them.  I enjoy the projects they show, the photos they share, and the stories they tell.  I’m not much of an entertainer — some of those blog stories keep me in stitches!  They share such funny, enlightening stories……I guess I feel like what I have to tell is pretty boring!  But I am really feeling GUILTY this week because I don’t have much to show you in the way of projects, but if you are wondering “what’s up” with me, here are a few of the things I would tell you. 

 I feel like I have some “time-suckers” in my life right now, and then I still feel behind from being gone last week.   Sometimes, I wish that I didn’t feel such a pressure to create and publish it on the blog.  I guess that is the one down-side to having this blog.  I always feel like you will be disappointed in me if there isn’t something new on the blog.  I hope that you can relate to my life, and somehow begin to realize the many different hats I wear.  I know that we are all busy, but then sometimes life throws you a curve ball and the days end up even crazier.  I try to look at these things as OPPORTUNITIES.  I know that God places things in my life on a daily basis that are certainly not PLANNED by me.  But nonetheless, I must adjust and respond appropriately.  And before I ramble any more — that’s why the blog just happens to get neglected at times.  “and now you know the rest of the story”……ha!

So, back to what is taking up my time these days……..the spare time that I really don’t have!

Bible Study — I started a new Beth Moore Bible Study that meets on Wednesday mornings.  Each lesson takes about 30-40 minutes and there are 5 lessons each week.  I am thoroughly enjoying the study and the new ladies I have met.  It has been about 2 years since I have done an in-depth class like this, and I realized that I was missing it terribly.  God has been faithful to help me complete the lessons and I am learning so much!  But it takes time….

Football Season — Thursday and Friday nights are spent sitting at a football field watching my girls cheer.  I wouldn’t have it any other way…but it takes time…

CPS Visitations, Court Hearings,  Home visits, and Inspections — We have at least  2 of these each month, and the visitations for the baby are every week.  It seems like a little thing, but all the little things add up.  This coming Tuesday we have Residential Child Care Licensing coming to do an inspection.  These are the BIG DOGS……..they do a very, very thorough inspection every 2 years and they scare us just a little bit.  I’ve got to clean and scrub and work extra hard for this one, and it takes time…

Well, that’s enough for now, I’m sure you are totally bored to tears.  I think I am just feeling a little overwhelmed right now with some personal things, and I’m not finding time to be creative at all.   But I have been preparing for my class on Saturday and tossing around ideas for our club classes this month.  So, I am always working on the behind-the-scenes kind of things.  I’m always working on a little embroidery project here and there (right now they are all Christmas presents),  assisting with homework projects, trying to keep tabs on all the pending college applications, and the list goes on.  And it all takes time….

I’m glad there are only 24 hours in a day.  I’m already tired enough, and I don’t want more hours to have to do more stuff to make me even more tired.   Have a great day…….and I hope you can fill your time with things that make you happy.  I have learned over the years, that you just can’t spend time on things that rob you of your joy.  You MUST spend time on the things that make you happy.  Does that include coffee and donuts?   I hope so!

2 thoughts on “What’s up with you?

  1. Hey Dawn,
    I totally understand the craziness of your daily life. I look forward each day to keeping up with you on your blog, especially since I was not able to participate in Club class this go around. But, don’t ever think I am disappointed because there is not something new on there “everyday”!!!! You have a life and a family and a foster baby. I am in awe of how you manage all that without the blog! You are doing an awesome job!

  2. Hey there, friend! I just wanted you to know that I also enjoy the same things you enjoy when you visit blogs. And don’t feel bad – it happens (life, of course). I can totally relate about feeling obligated to create just for the sake of the blog. It’s frustrating when you have so much to do to try to “keep up”, so to speak. But you do a good job, and I think we will all give you a break when you need it!

    Take care, and good luck with everything!

    Hugs,
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

