Feeling better…

Praise the Lord, I am feeling better today.  I am headed out to a court hearing for Josiah today.  It will probably not be very “eventful”, just a routine type of hearing, but it will still consume most of my morning and maybe even more.  I am feeling a little behind since I was in bed all day yesterday, but I’m praying the Lord will multiply my time between now and Friday.  We leave early Saturday morning on our Anniversary trip, so lots to be done before then!

I am working on preparing several new entries that will be posted while I am gone, so please make sure you check in and see them.  I want you to feel like I’m still here — ha!

I thought I’d show you a sewing project today that I made last week.  I was in the mood for a new “fall” bag, hoping that the fall weather will arrive SOON!  And I wanted to take it on my trip!  I love the little whimsical owls that are popping up everywhere, so I found this brown cordouroy fabric at JoAnn’s that had the most adorable little owls on it.  I didn’t really intend on using cordouroy for a bag, but it really turned out nice.  And it definitely “feels” like fall and winter!  I used a pattern called the “Pinafore Bag” and I altered the size slightly.  It makes a bag that is a tote size, just a little too large for a purse (or too large for me, at least) and I have many larger bags I have sewn.  I really needed a smaller one, so I took some gridded interfacing that you can use to make your own patterns, and altered the size by about 2-3″.  I am very pleased with the size and plan on making this bag again.  Really happy with this pattern!

The second photo is an attempt to show the inside.  I added a pocket on BOTH sides of the bag.  I love inside pockets, and the pattern only called for one, so I just added another one.  Glad I did!

And here is what the pattern looks like.  You can get your copy at Tomorrow’s Quilts in Waco, Texas, or if you live out of town, you can get it online, I’m sure.   I have also seen this brand of patterns at JoAnn’s, but not ever seen this exact bag.  Hope this helps.  All of my fabric came from JoAnn’s.

2 thoughts on “Feeling better…

  1. Wow, Dawn – that bag is soooo cute! I just love whimsical owls, and this bag shape is perfect, too! I’m glad I had to change blog readers because now I get your feeds! I wasn’t getting them anymore and thought maybe you’d stopped blogging. So glad to see you again, even if you were there all along.
    Take care!
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

