“Love”ly Wedding Gift

I think I mentioned that we went to a wedding this past weekend…..and I had planned on making a framed gift item for the bride and groom.  Well, along came the new baby on Friday night, and I didn’t get time in my craft room like I had planned…. 

Notice the self-adhesive pearls and the lace trim?  So, we went on to the wedding and I promised myself that I would get the gift to the mother-of-the-bride who lives only a few minutes away.  So today I managed to get my act together and make the gift using several new Stampin’ Up! products.  More little tiny pearls on the precious little embossed butterflies….

At the bottom of the post, I will show you where I got my inspiration for this piece, but I wanted to use things that were easy to reproduce so that I can potentially offer this as a class.  I wanted to be “realistic” and make it work for me instead of having that mentality that it has to be JUST LIKE the one I saw on the blog.  Do you do things like that?  I am trying to get better….

These stamped flowers are from a new stamp set that we got at Convention.  It was one of my “top 5” favorites when the new catalog arrived, and I was tickled pink when I found out that we were getting it for free if we attended convention.  (Well, my registration fee most certainly paid for the stamp set, but you know what I mean….)  This set is called “Just Believe” and is on page 109.  I can’t wait to create even more beautiful projects with this set!

So, here is the finished project.  The “love” on the TOP of the glass is from our Decor Elements set called “Inspiration” on page 31 of the new Definitely Decorative Catalog.  There are 4 words in the set:  faith, hope, love, and life.  I am already planning on using the other 3 very soon for similar projects.  Aren’t these the greatest gift ideas???

I’d appreciate feedback, as I am stepping out on faith a bit in creating non-card items.  I’m trying to get to the point of making gifts for others more than going out and buying them.  I saved myself $20-30 by not going and buying a wedding gift!  I am super excited about that and I know that the bride will enjoy this hand-made gift even more than a store-bought one.  Now if I can just get them made up AHEAD of time and avoid the last-minute frenzy…….well, that’s antoher topic for another entry!

Have a great day!!!

Oh, yeah…..searched high and low — can’t find that photo on my computer just yet, but I will edit this post if I find that “inspiration photo”.  The hard copy is on my desk………so I know it is here somewhere.  GRRR…..hate it when that happens!

5 thoughts on ““Love”ly Wedding Gift

  1. Dawn –

    What a beautiful gift! Your work is always so creative and is such an inspiration. Keep up the great ideas!

    Dee

  2. It’s a great gift! I love making non-card items and especially love the money saved!
    You’re doing a great job! These are beautiful.

  3. Exquisite, Dawn! I mean this has TONS of WOW factor! Everything about this is simply gorgeous. Love it. I’ve been thinking about a personal creation for my son’s upcoming wedding. A framed creation would be lovely. I was going to do a digital scrapbook of their engagement using E. Soiree papers….but I could doing something like this. Thanks for the inspiration!!!!

  4. Dawn, what a beautiful and thoughtful gift — anyone would love receiving it. I wish you’d have a class on this one.

  5. I love your “love” frame. Just Believe is one of my favorite new sets, too. I can see these frames with a Christmas theme… They would make great Christmas gifts!

Leave a Reply

