Quilted Journals

I worked on these last week, and couldn’t wait to show them to you!  But……..had to wait until they were delivered at Convention before “spilling the bean” since they all read my blog!

The flowers on the journals were made with the Big Shot and the Flower Folds die cut on page 208.  I used the smallest and second-smallest flowers.  I put a layer of batting between the fabric and then hand-stitched around the edges.  It seemed like an impossible task to do this on the machine and get it “perfect”.  I would have wanted all the edges to be perfectly round, etc.  So…….hand-work was my choice, and I love to do little things like this while I am watching TV at night with the family.  It keeps them happy, and I am happy stitching!  It really goes quickly!

Here is a photo of the inside flaps.  When you have used all of the composition book, just buy another one and refill your cover.  I have made many of these as gifts (you may remember seeing them on the blog at Christmas time)…….and they are so well received.  I highly recommend this pattern……..it is quick and easy — even for beginners!

If you would like to make these journals, CLICK HERE for the pattern.

I will show you two more fabric choices tomorrow, and you will see how different they look when you use different colors.   The pattern is slightly different on how the closure works.  I altered mine to allow for the Big Shot flowers.  I had to incorporate Stampin’ Up! in this……ya’ know?  I simply sewed about 12″ of ribbon sticking out from the back seam of the book.  I took the ribbon and wrapped it around the flower a couple of times to “close” it up.  You could even omit the closure altogether.  They are cute no matter what!

Leave a Reply

