Saltwater Taffy Quilt

I wanted to show you my latest quilt top……it’s called Saltwater Taffy in the magazine, so guess I’ll stick with that.  It uses my favorite 30’s prints, and it was really fun to make!  These squares are really tiny……the finished quilt is 28 inches square.  Since it’s so small, I’m going to quilt this one myself, using my own sewing machine and adding some hand quilting in the solid white squares.   I’m invisioning a quilted flower shape in each white square.  I’ve got it all pinned together and ready for advice from more experienced quilters before I get started.  Plus, I’ve put it on the backburner for the last couple of weeks to focus on scrapbooking and other family fun!  It may not get done until fall, but that’s OK…….it’ll still be waiting for me 🙂

Photo below shows the entire quilt (that is the batting hanging out on the edges)

Close-up of the 9 patch squares and the half-square triangles on the border.

Another close-up and the pink floral is the backing and binding material. 

These fabrics are all from the Feedsack VI Collection from Windham Fabrics.  All prints purchased from The Quilt Asylum in McKinney, Texas.  You can check them out at www.thequiltasylum.com.   Thanks for letting me share my love of sewing alongside my papercrafting.  Hopefully you will enjoy the mixture!

3 thoughts on “Saltwater Taffy Quilt

  1. It’s beautiful, Dawn! So sweet…I have about three wall hangings started that I need to quilt and I must get at them. One has been in my closet for two years! Yours is just gorgeous and I love the 30’s prints. My mom was showing me her stash of them. Love them all.

    Thanks for your sweet note this morning. I’ll be in prayer for your dad!

  2. It’s pretty,Dawn! It looks great! You were brave to take on the job of making the quilt with all those small pieces in it.I started making a quilt with small pieces in it awhile back.I have never finished it…maybe one day I will.

  3. Dawn, your quilts are sooooooooooooo pretty. I really don’t know where you get the time or energy to do all you do!! Hope you and yours are doing well!

Leave a Reply

