Sunflower Cards

Today’s cards were a special request from a friend of mine.  She is actually a “second mom” to me, and has been since I was tiny girl!  They used to live across the street from us when we were growing up, and we have always stayed in touch.   She wrote me last week and asked if I might help her with a Graduation Card.  Her son’s girlfriend is graduating from Law School next weekend.  WOW!  A very special graduation…….and she needed a “sunflower” theme.  She told me that they all wear white and have sunflowers — it is all symbolic of something — I don’t know the full story, sorry!  But the main thing you need to understand is why in the world I made a graduation card with sunflowers!  I decided to send her 2 cards so she could use the one she likes the best (although they are very similar).  I also sent her 3 different verses and put Dimensionals on the back of them.  Now she can just peel off and apply the “Happy Graduation” or “Congratulations” on her favorite card.   She’ll also be able to apply the “Happy Birthday” to the other card and use it for someone else.  I have temporarily attached the verses to these cards for photography purposes only.

All of the cards use these same basic supplies.  Please e-mail me if you have any specific questions.

Stamps:  Inspired by Nature, Happy Grad, Well Scripted

Markers:  Old Olive, Always Artichoke, Chocolate Chip, Summer Sun, More Mustard

Ink:  Old Olive, Chocolate Chip

Cardstock:  Very Vanilla Textured, Old Olive, Summer Sun, Chocolate Chip

Accessories:  Ribbon (not sure, retired), Dimensionals, Ticket Corner Punch, More Mustard Brads

Top cards uses a sponge, Bashful Blue Ink, and a scalloped circle as a template.

2 thoughts on “Sunflower Cards

  1. These are BEAUTIFUL Dawn! I never noticed or thought of the textured vanilla or white paper but I LOVE the effect! I like how you used the scallop circle as a template too!

    btw, I am helping mom with her SU! site and have started creation challenges there (I miss the card swaps we did! hopefully this will help!)

    I gave Trina her scrapbook from her birthday. I know she was surprised and I think she was very happy although there are a couple of small things left to add to it.

  2. Dawn, these cards are really striking. I especially like the shadow effect on the horizontal ones and how that sets off the textured paper.

Leave a Reply

