Gift Card Holder

I haven’t had much time to stamp since getting home from our cruise.  I’m still playing “catch up” and been tending to a teething baby and the “fun things” that go along with that……those of you that are mommas can imagine!   So, I pulled out a project that I am wanting to do for one of my classes coming up to show you.  I got this from my dear friend Katherine — who is always so sweet to bring me fun project ideas when we go to our annual Stampin’ Up! Convention.  This is from a year (or two?) ago, and it is made out of retired paper, but I really like the shape and size of it and I wanted to share it with you.  I’m planning on making another one with some current paper, but this will have to do for now. 

This first view shows the gift card holder completely closed.   I love the Jumbo Eyelets and the Linen Thread closure!

This second view shows the top part opened.  You can see the “slit” where the fold is.  The Designer Series paper has been put on top of the thin white cardboard that is used to provide stability in our DSP Paper Packs.  If you don’t already save this paper, you should start.  It is useful for so many things.   Katherine used it underneath the DSP and it worked out perfect!

This view shows the entire holder opened to its fullest size.  I slid one of my business cards in the slot where you would put your gift card (or money!)…..so don’t tape that part down!

One more view showing the inside a little closer up.  

Here are the dimensions:

Finished size (opened up):  4″ x 14 1/2″

Top piece (including flap):  4″ x 9″  scored at 2 1/4″ You will attach one of the Jumbo Eyelets to this flap (2 1/4″)

Bottom piece (floral part):  4″ x 6″ scored at 1/2″

Where you scored at 1/2″, attach that little piece to the BACK SIDE of the holder (not photographed) and that part becomes the flap.  You will attach one of your Jumbo Eyelets on this piece.

One more thing……notice that Katherine rounded the corners for a nice, polished look!  This is a small thing that we often forget about, but it makes such a big difference.

If you have any questions, please e-mail me.  Hope you will enjoy another fun idea!

Leave a Reply

