Penguin Treats

Hello friends!  I have finished my marathon week of rehearsals and 4 performances in the Waco Christmas Celebration!  Can you hear me singing the Hallelujah Chorus?  Surely you can…….I know I am singing very loudly, as I am very thankful that some of my time is freed up.  However, I am full of mixed emotions because it is all over.  Isn’t that “let down” feeling funny?  You work so hard for so long and then it is all over!  If you aren’t from the area, you might want to know that this is a “family friendly” show featuring both secular and religious songs.  We have over 250 participating in singing, dancing, and acting.  This was the 10th Anniversary of Waco Christmas Celebration and the 6th year for my family.  It is amazing to look back over the years and see how they have “grown up” during WCC and it has been such a big part of our lives for 6 years.  They started as such small children and this year they were all in the “youth scenes”……….it is crazy!  It brought tears to my eyes (easy to do for me!) to think about all the solos sung, all the different costumes they’ve worn, and all the maturing they’ve done….life does move on!  But I don’t like them growing up not one bit! 

So, of course I have hundreds of photos!  Can’t possibly go through them all right now, but I wanted to you know about the Penguins.  I have been a dancing and singing penguin for 3 years.  It has been so fun, and we’ve had the same group of 5 ladies until this year.  One of my best friends, Carrie, moved this past summer, so we had to replace her with a new penguin, Valerie!  She did a fabulous job, but we sure did miss Carrie.  Each year, we have enjoyed finding “penguin” gifts and giving them to one another at then end of the show………sometimes we all do it, sometimes just a few…….but we all laugh and have a great time!  I was really running low on time this year, and I didn’t find time to shop for the “perfect” gifts, but I got the girls some very soft fuzzy socks and made some really cute tags to put on the sack.

I used the Penguin image from the Animal Crackers Stamp Set.   It has words with it that say “Have an Ice Day”…….very cute words, but I didn’t really want them on my Christmas Gift, so I punched out the image with a 1 3/8” circle punch and cut off the words.  I sponged the edges with Basic Black Ink and then mounted it onto a Scalloped Circle Punch using Bashful Blue Ink. 

The Scallop Tag Die is a Sizzix Die that I have had for many, many years.  It works perfect with the Big Shot and I use it to make almost all of my Christmas Tags.  It is roomy enough for large stamped images, words, To/From, etc………I love it!  But I can’t sell it to you — sorry!

So, if you want to see what the “real” penguins look like, here we are:

Me, Linda, Valerie, Carolyn, and Jill

Dancing on the stage, in that same order, so I am the first one on the left.

Here is the “lead singer”…….me! Guess I am good and waddling……is that how you spell that?  Oh, well, I will look it up before I add it to my resume!!!

2 thoughts on “Penguin Treats

  1. Thanks for posting the penguin pics! I missed being there. It was a crazy weekend for us too with Causey’s birthday, church, and a two and a half hour band concert on Sunday! Definitely not the Bible belt.

  2. Had no idea that the penguins were all ladies.
    You and all of them did an excellant, fun filled
    performance. I absolutely loved it!

Leave a Reply

