Falling Leaves Candy Holder

We had another busy weekend, and I had 2 classes this weekend on top of the family stuff.  I am thrilled with the results of the weekend…….lots of fun, lots of football, and lots of family bonding.  We are re-doing our fireplace (as if our lives didn’t have enough excitement) and making a brick hearth.  The brick will go up the wall almost to the ceiling and there will be a brick mantle/shelf/archway type of thing going on.  I am so excited, as I have wanted this for 4 years!!!  I strongly disliked the style that was there before.  I am so excited because Charles has made some progress on it this weekend — although the dust created has been a little much for me!  I am trying to not complain, though, and keep the end result in mind!!! 

This is one of the projects from my workshop on Saturday.  My long-time friend and customer, Jo, had a fantastic workshop with several of her friends from work and some family members, too.  After I demonstrator a couple of projects, we did 2 Make and Take projects.  This was our 3-D project using Falling Leaves.

falling leaves candy holder

You might also remember this “original” candy holder from many months ago………..this is where I got this idea.  I just transformed it into a “fall theme”. 

wanted candy holder

To make this holder:

1) Start with cardstock measuring 3 1/2″ x 7 3/4″

2) Score at 1/2″, 3 3/4″, and 4″ on the long side

3) Stamp as desired.  If you want the words to really show up, I recommend stamping them first and then stamp the leaves.  (I used leaves from Falling Leaves and the colors Old Olive, Really Rust, Ruby Red, and More Mustard)

4) Punch a window using the Word Window Punch.  Insert the paper from the end that has the 1/2″ score.  Insert into punch until paper can’t go in any more.  Punch one time for a small candy bar, or punch a longer window opening if desired.

5) Use a small amount of adhesive at the top (where the 1/2″ scoring is located) to hold the treat holder closed.

6) Punch 2 small openings at the top for tying ribbon.

7) Insert candy and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

