Falling Leaves….again!

Yesterday, I went to the mailbox (the SNAIL mailbox) and found out that someone had sent me a very special card!  My first clue?  The envelope was stamped with gorgeous fall leaves!  I was so excited to open it, I almost ripped the envelope in my haste!  I quickly realized that I wanted to save this gorgeous piece of art, and show it to you all on the blog…….so AFTER you look at the Stampin’ Up! project today, make sure you scroll down to see my card I got!  It is breathtaking! 

falling leaves treat holder

Today’s post is a treat holder using “Falling Leaves” and the Big Shot Bag with Scallops Die Cut.  I used ONLY the long, skinny piece — not the sides.  This produces a much faster and easy treat holder…….no gluing or sticky strip!  I was able to cut 3 of these from one piece of 8 1/2 x 11 piece of cardstock by cutting the paper 2 3/4″ x 11″ and running all three strips at once.  WOW!  Talk about some fast little treats for a class of kids, co-workers, or friends! 

I used Chocolate Chip cardstock for the base, Pumpkin Pie cardstock for the scallops, Very Vanilla cardstock for the stamped images, and Old Olive for the layering on the circle punches.

I used the “Rock and Roll” technique (featured in the post a few days ago) on the Pumpkin Pie Leaf.  First, ink it up with Pumpkin Pie and then gently “roll” the edges of the stamp in Chocolate Chip ink.  I didn’t do the Old Olive leaf because I didn’t think that technique would be very effective with the polka dotted edge on that leaf.  I did cut it out and mount it on Dimensionals, though.

For the top of the treat bag, I used a 1/8″ hand held punch to make 2 holes all the way through the cardstock and the cellophane bag.  It was not hard to do — and then I tied Old Olive Grosgrain Ribbon through all layers. 

The next part of my post is an adorable card that I got in the mail from my sweet friend Barb…….she has an awesome blog, as well, and I constantly check in on her to see her handiwork.  Although many of her cards do not use Stampin’ Up! supplies, I am still inspired by the details of her work, the beautiful coloring, the blending of the colors, the stitching, ribbon, and just everything!!!  She also decorates the insides of her cards and the envelopes, too!  Can you say “over-achiever”???  And I mean that in the very nicest of ways!!!!  I love you, Barb!!!  She is also a foster mother, and that is how we originally met!  She knew nothing about scrapbooking or stamping…….but I taught her everything I know!  HA!  Then she took it and ran with it………..she has been published and on design teams — she’s kinda “famous”……..she will kill me for writing all of this!  At any rate, check out her blog if you want to see more!  Amazing stuff!

fall card from barb

Inside…..

fall card from barb 2

Envelope……

fall card from barb 3

Leave a Reply

