Gift Card Holder

Today is the first day of school for my girls!  They are in grades 7, 10. and 11!!!!  WOW!!!  It is the first time that I won’t be driving the older girls to the high school.  Now that Allyson drives, it will be very different.  I guess my photos will look different, too!  I asked them if we could go up to the school after hours and “re-inact” their going to the school so I could have photos for their scrapbook……..you should have seen their eyes roll at that request!!!  However, I am super excited about taking Sarah to school this morning.  I get to go in with her and see the Back to School Pep Rally that kicks the year off for everyone!  Since Sarah is a cheerleader, they are wearing their uniforms to school (another funny story) and cheering at the Pep Rally.  I am looking forward to seeing her cheer for the first “official” event……….and they have some cute dances, too!  I guarantee that you will see some photos later on!!!  So, I will miss out on the HS kids, but have alot of fun at the Middle School!   Oh, and about that uniform on the first day of school — she tried to convince me this summer that she would be SAVING me money because I didn’t have to buy her a “first day of school outfit”…………but, uh, help me figure this out ladies………..didn’t I pay A TON OF MONEY for the cheerleading stuff…….namely $604????  Can you do the math and see what “first day of school outfit” would cost me this much???  Well, in her sweet little eyes, it was saving me money!  Maybe saving me some time shopping, but certainly not the dollars.  And to add to that, she did convince me to buy her a dress for the “second day of school outfit” — so I still lost!  gift card holder 12Today’s project is a Gift Card Holder that we made at my workshop last week.  I got the original idea and instructions from Angie Juda’s Blog Chic ‘N Scratch.   Please see my side bar for a link to her fantastic blog!!!  We used Pun Fun (page 60, $32.95) on the front of the holder, and used the Whimsy Jumbo wheel on the Brilliant Blue Cardstock.  I am not ready for Video Tutorials just yet, and might not ever be, but here are the step-by-step instructions for my project using PHOTOS….

Step 1:  Start with cardstock measuring 4 1/4″ x 11″.  Score at 5 1/2″ (middle) and also at 3″ from each end.  Wheel as desired.  I used Versamark Ink and the Whimsy Wheel.  (Note:  You can roll the wheel on the stamp pad instead of using an ink cartridge ONLY if you are doing a small, narrow project like this one.  Please order a colored ink cartridge for larger projects.)

gift card holder 1

Step 2:  Finished cardstock after wheeled.  gift card holder 2

Step 3:  For the front, you will need 2 pieces of cardstock (measurements shown on photo).  I used Watercolor Paper for this sample and Pumpkin Pie Cardstock for the backing. gift card holder 3

Step 4:  Watercoloring using Aqua Painter and Ink from my stamp pad.  “Frame” around the edge created by gentle brushing ink onto the edge of the paper. gift card holder 4

Step 5:  Fold onto score marks so it looks like a “W”. gift card holder 5

Step 6:  Add adhesive to the sides and bottom of the middle (shorter) section.  DO NOT  put adhesive along the fold at the top!!!!gift card holder 6

Step 7:  Using the 1/2″ circle punch, punch a circle near the middle, and insert the punch about 1/2 way into the fold. gift card holder 7

Step 8:  Do the same thing using the Word Window punch.  Punch almost to the edges on the right and left side of the circle you punched. gift card holder 8

Your finished section that you punched should lo0k like this:gift card holder 9

And if you insert a card into the punched section it should work out like this:gift card holder 10

Step 9:  Punch the front and back edges with the Slot Punch.  You will tie your ribbon through this slot. gift card holder 11

Once you add your image to the front, it should look like the very first photo.  The one on the left is stamped on Watercolor Paper and colored with Aqua Painters and the one on the right stamped on Whisper White and is colored with Blender Pens.  Both images were stamped in Black StazOn Ink.   Tomorrow’s post will show a precious little girl version — you know me and my girly things!

Leave a Reply

