Kick It Up A Notch…

We watch alot of Food Network around here (well……that is, when we even have time to turn the TV on in the first place).  We have grown to love Emeril Lagasse and he is always “kickin’ it up a notch” — adding more and more stuff to enhance the flavors in the recipe.  Well, why not do that on a card?  Here is my first try at “Kick It Up A Notch”………Stampin’ Up! style!!!  Let me know what you think, as I plan to do this with several of my new stamps. 

Today’s card will use the same ink, cardstock, ribbon, and stamps — then I will  add a few accessories on card #3.  Each card has the exact same layout design, also. 

Card #1

Simple, single color stamping, and no embellishments — took about 3 minutes to make!  I dusted off the Bordering Blue Ink (haven’t used that color in ages!!!) and then paired it up with Soft Suede.  Loved how it turned out.  The Soft Suede Polka-Dotted ribbon is reversed to give me a nice solid color — isn’t that cool?

medallion 1

Card #2 

Very, very similar……..but I took a Sponge Dauber and inked up the edges of the Medallion Stamp before stamping it on Whisper White cardstock.  I also sponged the edges of the Whisper White.   Final touch was a brad in the center of the Medallion.  (6-8 minutes to create)

medallion 2

Card #3

This is by far the prettiest card, and yet it took very little time to create.  I did everything the same except for the center of the Medallion.  I stamped it a second time on a scrap of Whisper White, punched it out with the 1 3/4″ Circle Punch, inked the edge of the circle and distressed it a little bit, too.  I used my fingernails to do that, but we really do have a tool that does that, too!  I actually stamped the center of the Medallion a 3rd time to get the tiny circle that is on the Build-A-Brad.  You don’t  have to waste time inking up the whole thing, though……..as you only need 1/2″ circle!  If you have not used the Build-A-Brads before, you are missing out on a really neat accessory.  They can really personalize a card and finish it off really nicely!  You can put DSP behind the clear sticker, too, and it looks like a designer brad.  (10-12 minutes to create)

medallion 3

So, how many of you are interested in this Medallion stamp now???   I bet quite a few of you!  You won’t believe how many people had made swap cards with it at Convention.  We saw so many beautiful cards………all made with just ONE STAMP!  If you would like to purchase the Medallion stamp, I am offering it for $15.95 this weekend only ($17.95 regularly).  I am listing the other items used on these cards below. 

Please your order this weekend (before Sunday 10 p.m.) and get this stamp for $15.95!!!  Want some other items?  Let me know and I will place my order on Sunday night.   This offer is available only by calling me or e-mailing me your order.

Supplies Used:

Medallion Stamp Set  #115223  $17.95

Teeny Tiny Wishes #115370  $36.95 (24 greetings)

Build-A-Brad #109108  $9.95

Soft Suede Ribbon   #115612   $9.95

Circle Punch 1 3/4″  #112004  $15.95

Stampin’ Dimensional #104430   $3.95

Enjoy your weekend……..I will probably not post again until Monday.  I need to used my time very wisely this weekend!!!  E-mail those orders to me…….or call me up!  I’d love to chat with you!

3 thoughts on “Kick It Up A Notch…

  1. I love card #1 and #3. I’m always drawn in by the clean and simple look of the first card and the third card has that extra “BAM” that makes it stand out. Great job Dawn! I need that stamp!

  2. I want one too!! I am fixing to head out the door for OKC and won’t be back till Monday can I send you a check then or I can bring you one on Tuesday? But definately order me one. Thanks! Let me know if I need to send you $$ now.

Leave a Reply

