Christmas in July Day 6

celebrate the season scalloped notecard

Today’s Christmas card uses the new Big Shot Scallop Square Die (page 199 IB&C).  It is a special type of die — it is clear!  You can see through the plastic to see exactly where you are cutting your paper.  I have not purchased any of these before, but I am really liking the “clear thing”!  So, how did I make it into a card?  I took my cardstock and folded it in half.  I placed the fold just slightly inside the square scalloped edge on just one side.  (The die actually cuts all FOUR sides with a scallop.)  When you run the card through the big shot, you end up with a beautifully scalloped note card.  I embellished the notecard using the Stamp Set called Season of Joy (page 32 IB&C).   I used Bravo Burgundy, Handsome Hunter, and Mellow Moss for my color scheme.  Using Stampin’ Write markers, you can color this stamp image to coordinate with your cardstock and ribbon.  I also added a few silver brads to dress it up a little bit.  On the Mellow Moss cardstock, I used the Scalloped Border Punch and pierced holes along the edge for added dimension.  I was really happy with how this turned out and I particularly liked these colors together.  I think I might have to make some more cards like this one!

celebrate the season up close

We had another great day in Colorado yesterday — although there have been storms rolling through every afternoon!  We have just learned that this is what happens around here and especially up in the higher elevations.  It is quite refreshing and the temperatures drop about 20 degrees when the storms pass through.  They are usually short lived, and just a teeny bit of inconvenience.  We don’t get to see rain like this in Texas, so we are enjoying it so much!!!  Yesterday we visited a Wildlife Park that is about 3 miles from our house we rented.  We had some insiders tell us to go at 4:00 and you can take the “feeding tour” where the animal keepers go around and feed the animals.  During the tour we also got to hear facts about the animals, how old they were, where they came from, etc.  It was wonderful!  We got to hand feed some bunnies, goats, sheep, and donkeys.  On the tour, we saw a porcupine, two kinds of bears, elk, wolves, coyotes, an emu, mountain lions……and I think that is about all!  Once again, we got caught in a huge storm right in the middle of the tour!  It was quite comical.  Seems like everything we do is a little more adventuresome than we imagined! 

Today we are going to Wolf Creek Pass.  I’m not sure how long we will be gone, but we still have more shopping to do in town if we get back early enough.  I found a Needlework store called Edelweiss……can’t wait to go there.  I peeked in the windows this evening (already closed when we drove by) and they have quilt stuff, along with yarns for crochet, knitting, etc.  Sounds like my kind of store, huh?

Have a great day!!!!

Leave a Reply

