Deal of the Week!!!

summer fun 2009 header

During the month of July, Stampin’ Up! is offering a Deal of the Week for each new week! 

The new Deal will be announced each Monday morning at 10:00 MT, thus 11:00 our time.  I am sorry to say the even demonstrators do not know what the DEAL will be.  So, it is too early this morning for me to share the Deal, but I will update my post after lunch.    I had to say goodbye (again!) to one of my very best friends this weekend.  She is a sister in Christ, and we truly feel like we were sisters by birth, too!  We are always there for each other, know exactly what to do to help, and just seem to connect on every level.  They have moved back and forth to Waco several times in my adult life.  She is one of those friends that you can just pick up exactly where you left off and feel like you were never apart.  It was a very tearful goodbye, but we tried to make it short and sweet so it wouldn’t be even harder on us both.  I helped her pack off and on last week as much as I could while still managing my family.  They are now about 2/3 of the way to Virginia with their U-haul full and 4 kids in tow……….and I am already planning our vacation to see them next summer.   We will plan to go to Charlottesville, Virginia and to D.C. to see all the sights.  We have never done this trip with the kids, so it will be great timing!  I also know she is coming to Waco for a wedding in November and her parents live in Dallas, so I will go to Dallas whenever they come to visit.  It won’t be the same, but it will have to do.  I am so happy for her husband’s new job, and the new life they get to start.  Sometimes, I even get a little jealous and wish we could start over somewhere else………it usually sounds pretty good right about now when the weather is unbearably HOT!!!!  So, now that Carrie is gone, we are going to her house this morning to clean it up and make sure it looks good for the realtors who show it.   It won’t be the funnest thing I have ever done, but it is a labor of love.  I am doing this because I love Carrie, not because I love cleaning other people’s houses.  That’s why I will have to catch you up on the Deal of the Week later on.  Got work to do this morning!

So, we had a great holiday weekend and I will also try to post some photos later today.  We didn’t do anything fancy, but we had a little time to visit with family and do some work around the house (that would be called slave labor by my children).  They were none too happy about a few chores they were asked to help out with………you would have thought that I had asked them to pick cotton by hand from sun-up to sun-down!  Made me wonder if I am raising some lazy kids.  What will they do when they are on their own if we don’t teach them to keep up with things around the house?  Parents, unite!  We must require our kids to help and not let them lay around all the time while we do the work! 

clear clipboard

I have shown one of these before, but I made some more of them for my Customer Appreciation Party last week.   I used Baroque Motifs on page 131 of the New Idea Book and Catalog.  I stamped it with white StazOn Ink.  I tied ribbons at the top using Kiwi Kiss, Tangarine Tango, and white grosgrain ribbon.  These colors are retired, but I was trying to use up my old stuff.  The clipboards can be found at Wal Mart and they are not very expensive.  This one is a small notepad size, but they usually have larger ones, too.

One thought on “Deal of the Week!!!

  1. Hi Dawn,

    I have been enjoying checking out your blog. You have put many ideas in my head.
    I love the clear clipboard…how pretty is that?

    Keep up the great work!

    Hugs,
    Di

Leave a Reply

