Big Shot Oval Punch

Today was a “history making” type of day!  I actually stayed home all day long and never even put on my makeup!  I enjoyed a brisk walk with some ladies in my nieghborhood early this morning after the kids went to school.  Then I tackled some chores around here and put some Vegetable Beef Soup in the crockpot so I would have dinner taken care of.  The day was looking great for doing ALOT of stamping and even maybe some scrapbooking.  I was ready to “tackle the world”……..but I must admit that my creative juices were not bubbling over and I only made TWO cards and finished TWO scrapbook pages.  In the midst of this, I got a headache (perhaps the high winds caused it?) and just didn’t have alot of excitement in me.  Bummer!  I guess we all have days where we just don’t feel like doing things — even the things we love to do!  However, the cards that I did complete are really pretty and I like how they turned out.  I got some new stuff in the mail about a week ago, so I started with the Big Shot Oval that I was dying to use and the stamp set “Thoughts and Prayers” which I was also anxious to use.  I really think I will get alot of wear out of these two products!bigshotovalframe

Here are the specifics on how I created this card……..a few little tricks for this one.

1.  The base of my card is Kiwi Kiss and I added a strip of Raspberry Tart DSP to the left edge.  I also punched a small strip of Pink Pirouette with my Eyelet Border Punch. 

2.  I used the Big Shot Oval Frame to cut out the Cameo Coral Frame.

3.  To make the floral image, I used a Kiwi Kiss ink pad along with Cameo Coral and Rose Red Stampin’ Write Markers.

4.  First, you will ink the ENTIRE image with Kiwi Kiss since we don’t have markers for the In Colors.

5.  Next, take a Blender Pen and “erase” the Kiwi Kiss ink from the tiny flowers on the stamp.  After each flower, mark your blender pen on some scratch paper to get the ink off of it and then proceed to the next flower. 

6.  After “erasing” all the flowers, color them with markers (I used 2 colors) until all of the stamp is inked up once again.

7.  “HUFF” on your stamp before stamping it onto paper.   This is done to moisten and reactivate the ink. 

8.  Place the white stamped image underneath the frame.  You can use the oval that the Big Shot cuts out, but sometimes the color of the base card peeps through the cracks.  I don’t particularly like that.  So, I used the oval and cut me a new one just slightly bigger for my card.

9.  For the brad/ribbon combination:  Place a small piece of ribbon onto the brad by keeping the brad CLOSED and wiggling the ribbon down in between the 2 prongs.  It is a tight fit, but go slowly and it work out really nice.   Pierce a hole in your card and mount the brad as you would normally do.

10.  One more thing….for this card, you will trim off the right edge of the oval frame AFTER the card is complete.  Use your base card as a guide.

I have one more card for tomorrow………and maybe I can get more done tomorrow, too!!!!

3 thoughts on “Big Shot Oval Punch

  1. Another great card. I love the raspberry tart DSP myself and have used quite a bit of it lately. I also like the oval going off the front of the card. I may have to try your sketch. 🙂 Hoping your head feels better. Mine felt pretty bad most of the morning.

  2. Love this card! I don’t have the oval but that just might have to be my stamp club purchase. Hope you’re feeling better. That wind was horrible yesterday.

  3. This card is beautiful as are all your cards. I especially love the ribbon/brad technique.
    Hope you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

