Baby Card and Baby Quilt

Good morning……..well, almost afternoon around here!  I had a great weekend scrapbooking, laughing, eating, snacking, observing the beautiful wildlife, and relaxing.  It was hard to come home, but a little easier knowing that I didn’t have to go to work today!  I have been cleaning and organizing ever since I got home, but it actually feels good to accomplish some chores that I rarely get to do these days.  I know that sounds crazy, but it is true!

babycard3

I was needing a few baby cards (all of them for boys) and I made a few using “Just B” this morning.  The little diaper pin stamp is from “Short and Sweet”.  I want to point out that I embossed the images using a technique that I learned from my fellow demonstrator Lindsey Blackhurst.  For this technique, you DON’T have to use craft ink or embossing ink of any kind.  You can lightly emboss with regular Classic ink if you will stamp your image and VERY QUICKLY sprinkle clear embossing powder over the image.  Heat it up and emboss.  You will not get an continuously glossy image (like you would with embossing ink) but you will get a “speckled” sort of shiny look with small dots of embossing.  This adds just a touch of dimension and a touch of sparkle to your project.  Give it a try and see what you think.  Just make sure your powder is ready for a very quick application BEFORE you stamp that image………and on this card I did the “B” first and then did the other words.  I didn’t want to wait too long and miss the opportunity for the powder to stick to the ink.  I made 2 other variations of this card and I will show them to you tomorrow.

One of the things that I needed to do was mail a gift to Zack’s nephew.  He was born in the fall, and I really wanted to make something special for him.  They were recently here in Texas for 3 weeks, but I just didn’t get the time to sew.  I have been so pressed for time to do ANYTHING, but I recently managed to find the time to sew him a quilt with camoflauge and hunting stuff (things his family loves) and here is how it turned out.  I used various textures including brown “minky” fabric, flannel, satin, and cotton.   I am really happy with how the colors and textures blended to make a very “boyish” quilt.    I hope Amanda (and Benjamin) will like it ……….and I hope she doesn’t read my blog before it arrives! 

babyquilt1

babyquilt2

Have a super week.  We will be enjoying a variety of things during our “Spring Break” week………I will keep you posted, though!  Dawn

One thought on “Baby Card and Baby Quilt

  1. It sounds like you had so much fun! This is a cute card, and I didn’t know you could emboss on regular classic ink – thanks for sharing this! And your quilt is adorable! It seems perfect for the little one!

Leave a Reply

