Genie Bags for Christmas

These are 2 of the projects I made for my class this afternoon.  These are called “Genie Bags” and they are one of the simplest 3-D projects you will ever make.  You might remember another post here with a genie bag.  There is a small paper sack in between the two pieces of cardstock.  I purchased these smaller version lunch-sacks at Michael’s.  I made 2 samples so my guests could choose the very easy version or the “kick-it-up” version using the Stampin’ Up! Markers.  To make the first one, just ink up your entire stamp with Bashful Blue, stamp it, add the brad, and you’re done!  To make the second one, ink up your entire stamp with Bashful Blue but go back and add some accents with your Night of Navy Marker.   It takes a little more time, but it really adds some “punch”!   The background swirls were made with White Craft Ink.  I added a “handle” using the Word Window Punch and tied Bashful Blue Grosgrain Ribbon around the handle.   I am already starting to think about Christmas gifts for teachers and friends……..why don’t you try to make some of these in advance and have them ready for December gift-giving???

On a personal note, I survived my first full week of teaching Senior English………if you missed my post last week, I am talking HIGH SCHOOL Seniors.  Yes, the kind that have an attitude!  In all seriousness, I love them to death, want them to be successful, and want to prepare them for the real world.  They seem to like me, too, and several of them gave me big hugs today at the grocery store.  I run into them everywhere I go, so there is no “escaping” from them!  Glad I like them!!!

I am managing to keep the house under control thus far, and I have our week’s menu planned.  The groceries are bought, and I hope to have a good week!  I have both of my club classes this week, so I plan to keep showing you projects almost every day!   I am staying busy, and trying to stay rested up, too, so I don’t get too grouchy.    We packed up all of the baby stuff from Malachi this weekend, so maybe I won’t see “evidence” of him everywhere I go.  I found 2 pacifiers when I was cleaning………you know the ones that go missing and you find them months later??? 

Have a great day!  Dawn

Leave a Reply

